An introduction to the Lichess website

Hi everyone, I'm not the boss of anything at all, but I am willing, health permitting, to work on things to help our chess club grow and attract players of skill all levels.  In my own chess playing endeavors, I was introduced to the Lichess.org website several years before I discovered clan OverDosed, and at the time an old army buddy got me setup there, I created an account, VoidStalker666, and played him a few times (3), and then started playing against the various computer AI's on their site, but that really isn't my thing.  I could beat the lowest level AI more often than not , but have never beaten the level 8 AI in a fair fight.  🙂

Now fast forward several years, and I started playing chess with the OD chess club!  The boss, Badboi(OD), setup some chess tournaments, and we had a great time playing some games, but as usual, the tournaments are pitting new players against not only their own level opponents, but the more advanced players as well, and chess is not exactly a co-op game.  😞

But wait, working with Badboi(OD), I began to learn that there was more to the Lichess.org website than merely playing chess!  A whole lot more in fact.

The Lichess.org website offers tools to improve one's game that I could only dream of 40 years ago, when I was {17} young, healthy, and capable of kicking much chess player butt. 🙂

For starters, you can go and watch EVERY game of every clan(OD) member that they have played out using the website, and you can go over these games 24/7, at your convenience, to your heart's content, over and over again if you like, and watch how they played their games.  I cannot recommend this enough, both to find that individual members chess playing strength's and weaknesses', as well as tricky things that they do...