Sign in to follow this  
DarkHelmet

Computer sticky idea

I'm not a Computer expert so what I'm about to suggest should be taken up by a more knowledgeable OD member when it comes to Computers and their components but this Forum lacks a Computer Manual explaining all the Computer component jargon and what those values mean in terms of performance. For example a CPU with 16 PCI Express lanes compared to one with 40 PCI Express lanes. It(Manual) should explain what a PCI Express lane is and what benefit there is by having a higher value. Same deal with base frequency, TDP(Thermal Design Power), max memory supported and type, integrated graphics and other component specifications one can find online.

Not only can this be done for CPU's, but also RAM, GPU's, Monitors, SSD and HDD, Motherboards, Optical Drives(for those who still do things with CD's or watch movies on Computers), Sound Cards(are they even needed or worth it?), Wifi network cards, Power Supply and Cases. Can even include peripherals like Headsets, Keyboards, Mouses, Joysticks and VR headsets.

Over the past few months I've learned a lot through reading and research but even still I'm nowhere close to considering myself a competent person on the subject. Even though this may not benefit me as much as it would have 12 months ago, you'd be surprised how many people have no clue what makes up a Computer, much less what each component does and whether or not their hardware is even remotely decent. Therefore, would anyone be up for the challenge of writing such a Manual for OD members? It'd be a long and painstaking task but one that I feel would be widely appreciated and utilized.

no need really computer terminology is update frequently and not to mention he sheer amount of information and time dedication to something like this would be enormous. Might as well link them to pcpartpicker and let it explain it all for you